Featured Why are you guys and gals so good?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by KEVIN AIREY, Sep 26, 2020.

1. KEVIN AIREY

KEVIN AIREY Well-Known Member

Any tips on best way to identify items?
    Is it just experience or is there best tips to identify strange pieces?
    Tried Google images lots of times and pretty poor.

So come all, share the secret.

Tanya, Bronwen, kyratango and 2 others like this.
  2. bercrystal

bercrystal Well-Known Member

I have only been doing this craziness for about 20 years so I am still a relative newbie compared to some of the folks here on the forum. :happy::happy:

I learned a tremendous amount on the old eBay boards until they totally ruined them about 8 years ago or so. Just reading random posts & seeing the photos.

I have also worked &/or attended a weekly local auction here in Columbia for most of the last 20 years. He gets whole estates as well as individual consignments so being able to handle & learn about the stuff that moves through there has been a wonderful education. There is no real substitute most times to having an item in hand so you can get the feel of it especially when it comes to things live porcelain,, pottery or glassware.

I continue to learn new things every single day here on this forum because you have some very experienced folks in just about every genre you could possibly want. I am positive that there are folks here who have forgotten more than I will ever know about some areas. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Just remember there is no such thing as wasted research. If you see something here or when you are out & about jot it down or take a picture so that when you get home you can do the research. Then even if you do not get that one you will be ready if it ever crosses your path again.

3. John Brassey

John Brassey Well-Known Member