What's missing from this Eastlake pier mirror? How old is it?

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by R. Neil Covington, Dec 17, 2014.

1. R. Neil Covington

R. Neil Covington New Member

I was in the market for a tall mirror and found this one at a very reasonable price. It has been painted at least once and stripped at least once. It is currently finished with a semi-transparent paint or stain.

I enjoy antiques but I am a novice in identification. The seller believed that this piece was in the Eastlake style, and my research tends to agree. He said 1860's; my research suggests 1870's-1890's. Please let me know if you have any more info about its style or date.

I believe that the parts in the middle on top are not original (two carved swoops, rectangle with linear carving, and the three carved square medallions). There is evidence that another piece of wood was glued on top between the two carved swoops, and that piece is missing, but I believe it was not original anyway.

I believe that this mirror is primarily made of walnut. The painted gold mirror border, however, looks like yellow pine. The rectangle on top at the middle appears to be pine, and the carved swoops on top of that look like South American mahogany. As I get this mirror stripped down, I expect to have a better idea of what woods I am working with.

This mirror also came with a shelf to go under it that I don't believe matches the piece in age or style, and has much more modern finials attached. If the shelf is the same type of wood I may refinish it and try to fix it up to match, but that is going to be a future project. The shelf is shown in one of the pics, and your thoughts on it would also be appreciated.