Featured The British Invasion- 19th Century Art (2/2)

Discussion in 'Art' started by techbiker, Jul 30, 2022.

1. techbiker

techbiker Well-Known Member

Thank you for all of your feedback on my first "British Invasion" art thread! The following are the rest of the 19th century paintings I purchased from southern England. Please don't hesitate to provide your thoughts. Here's a link to the first thread: The British Invasion- 19th Century Art (1/2) | Antiques Board (antiquers.com)

John Charles Swallow (1876)- A Mediterranean Coastal Town in watercolor. 30cm x 45cm view size. Mr. Swallow (b 1835) appears to have been the headmaster of the Bath School of Art in 1880 and an art examiner for Queen Victoria. I'm not an art expert however I think the detail in this piece is incredible. You have to use a magnifying glass to see all of the detail.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Post office [afterw.] Kelly's directory of Hampshire, Dorsetshire, Wiltshire ... - Kelly's directories, ltd - Google Books

H Taylor (1886)- A Shipwreck Scene in oil. 50cm x 70cm canvas size. This painting is IMO wonderful in person (also not as yellow). Sadly, I have to touch up an unexpected ding to the canvas in the upper right corner and fix some broken frame plaster. I guess that's a risk associated with buying internationally.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Finally, a pair of 19th century Lakeland Landscapes- English School. Oil on board. Each about 47cm x 36cm board size. These seem quite well done but no signature that I can see. They appear to have been reframed in the first half of the 20th century in antique frames. Both could use a light clean and some frame work.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Thank you again for all of your input!

Last edited: Jul 30, 2022
    Figtree3, johnnycb09 and Any Jewelry like this.
  2. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member