Strange half-postcard with "gang"

Discussion in 'Ephemera and Photographs' started by AntiqueBytes, Aug 19, 2021.

1. AntiqueBytes

AntiqueBytes Well-Known Member

I have no knowledge of vintage postcards except to have picked up a few here and there.

I found this one, which is half-sized. The brightness is misdone by the printer hence you cannot see the details in some of the figures. I have no idea what this means.

gangnearleanto.jpg gangnearleantoback.jpg

judy and LauraGarnet02 like this.
  2. Kronos

Kronos Well-Known Member

Someone trimmed the picture because they wanted to view it and keep it as a picture and not send it as a postcard. Real Photo postcards could easily be made by amateurs, so you'll see plenty that might not be well done compared to professional studio shots.

AntiqueBytes and judy like this.
  3. AntiqueBytes

But why is there a printed border on all four edges?

judy likes this.
  4. Kronos

Kronos Well-Known Member

AntiqueBytes and judy like this.
  5. antidiem

antidiem Well-Known Member

Thanks, Kronos. The back looks cut crooked to me.

judy likes this.
  6. antidiem

antidiem Well-Known Member

The border kind of looks a totally different color treatment and sheen, could it be black ink ball point or fountain pen border? The border looks hand done to me.

judy likes this.
  7. AntiqueBytes

The border is the same texture as the rest of the picture. It was printed at the same time.

judy likes this.
  8. AntiqueBytes

Anyone have any idea what this photo might be of? How many possibly were made?

judy likes this.
  9. daveydempsey

daveydempsey Moderator Moderator

I think its just an over exposed photograph.

10. AntiqueBytes

Does that mean it's a one of a kind? I don't understand the pre-printed backing. Was that something that many one-off photographs were printed on?

11. Figtree3

Figtree3 What would you do if you weren't afraid?