Featured Silver or not? Indian round box

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by 808 raver, May 16, 2024.

1. 808 raver

808 raver Well-Known Member

I just bought this round box solely for the very well executed chasing of the decoration. I didn't pay a lot and I don't mind if it's brass, silver or silver plate. I have no experience with metal ware so any thoughts on any of it would be hugely welcomed. The size is 18cm wide by 7cm high s-l1600 (90).jpg s-l1600 (91).jpg s-l1600 (92).jpg s-l500 (4).jpg s-l1600 (93).jpg

2. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

It is a beauty, and I remember seeing these, but can't remember when. Probably a paan (betel) box.
    It doesn't look like silver, and I don't think they were made in silver, but let's wait for the others.:)

3. 808 raver

The design on the front (pot with tree and birds) reminds me of a Goa/Portuguese 18th/19th box design. Is that enamel? paint? or lac? on the design? I have tried looking it up, I only paid £15 including PP so it really was a punt. If you remember the School of Art Jaypour table I bought, that was only going by the workmanship, this has the same feel but the photos I posted aren't good enough to really zoom in like I can on ebay.

4. 808 raver

The listing says "white metal"

5. Any Jewelry

That is the 'Puranakumbha' motif, a symbol of prosperity and fertility. It is seen throughout the Subcontinent. I think your box is northern, maybe even Pakistani, but I could be wrong.
    The dark colour is often a natural resin mixed with 'stuff'.

6. 2manybooks

2manybooks Well-Known Member

7. 808 raver