Signed M. Montgomery oil painting

Discussion in 'Art' started by Armando0831, Oct 15, 2014.

1. Armando0831

Armando0831 Well-Known Member

image.jpg Bought this the other day at Goodwill. I thought it was a very lovely piece. It's signed M. Montgomery in the lower left corner.

spirit-of-shiloh likes this.
  2. Figtree3

Figtree3 What would you do if you weren't afraid?

3. Armando0831

I'm new at collecting paintings. Have you heard of this artist?

4. Armando0831

5. Mill Cove Treasures

Mill Cove Treasures Well-Known Member

On AskArt.com they have 2 artist with the first initial M under Montgomery, Muriel and Maureen. Murial has a different signature, the other doesn't show any signature at all. Here is a link:

http://www.askart.com/askart/alpha/M36.aspx

6. Figtree3

I have not heard of the artist... but hope that somebody else can help. Mill Cove Treasures has found a possible lead, anyway.

7. Armando0831

Thank you for the search. I'll have to look that up soon. Hopefully something comes back positive.

8. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent

I think it's probably a copy of an 18th C English portrait, though I haven't been able to find a match.

9. Armando0831

I got a two for one deal on this painting. Out of curiosity, I carefully cut off the paper on the back to see the reverso. I was shocked to see another painting behind it. It's of a city street with buildings in bright colors. It also has the M. Montgomery signature on canvas. I don't know why the artist did this but it seems like they applied a board to the canvas for the front painting and kept the hidden painting to show of the reverse. I'll post pics later today after work.

10. afantiques

afantiques Well-Known Member

This women has a modern face and bust. The signature is also modern. (Modern is anything younger than I am)

antidiem and yourturntoloveit like this.
  11. Armando0831

It's surely modern but no idea of the artist. I'm still searching though.

12. Armando0831