Shell button questions

Discussion in 'Textiles, Needle Arts, Clothing' started by Dwd, Jan 20, 2024.

1. Dwd

Dwd New Member

I have some NOS shell buttons on cards (see pics). I'm guessing 50's or 60's vintage. Back of card says in business for 95+ years. Front of card says 70 cents. How old? Can I get more than 70 cents for them?

2nd pic shows possibly dyed buttons. (I'm very new at this.) Probably more than one material, but they don't sound or feel like plastic. Can you tell from pic what they might be made of? (If I can't attach 2 pics I'll attach to a reply.) IMG_20240120_084824957.jpg IMG_20240120_084244464.jpg

judy likes this.
  2. acvintage

acvintage Member

Did a quick search for vintage "La Mode abalone shell buttons" and found ones similar to yours, with prices, age, etc. I have a bunch of buttons I also have to research. Always better when still on their original cards.

komokwa and judy like this.
  3. acvintage

acvintage Member

If you sign in to Ebay and do a search, then click on the sold items for that search you'll get an idea of sold prices plus maybe some dating info. You can also check on Etsy and other online sites for pricing once you know what you're looking for. If you do a search for just "abalone shell buttons" you'll get an even wider response with pricing to help with your research.

I'm not at all experienced in buttons so can't tell regarding quality, high end or not, etc.

4. judy

judy Well-Known Member

Quite common. Often found in button lots at garage/yard/estate sales. Buttons have gone up and I shop JoAnne's, so button lots are the way to go for the most part. Depending on what one is sewing, a retail purchase might be the only way to go.

komokwa likes this.
  5. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Zip code om the address (first card) makes it 60s.

wlwhittier, Debora and judy like this.
  6. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

1963 or later to be precise.

Debora

Bakersgma likes this.
  7. Debora