Royal Dux Dog (pink triangle) ...repro?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Lucille.b, Oct 15, 2016.

1. Lucille.b

Lucille.b Well-Known Member

Any thoughts on this piece? Wondering if it is possibly a repro? Paint seems a little sloppy on the base, but I'm not an expert on Royal Dux. Also it looks like an "E" instead of a "Z" on Czechoslovakia, unless I'm misreading this.

I read one article on reproductions, but wasn't conclusive. I'm not sure so valuable even if the real deal, but I know people like dog figurines. If anyone is familiar with Royal Dux, would love to get thoughts. Thanks!

DOG1.jpg DOG2.jpg DOG2B.jpg DOG2C.jpg DOG999.jpg

2. Ladybranch

Ladybranch Well-Known Member

The following website may help in determining age and whether a fake.
    https://www.realorrepro.com/article/Royal-Dux:

--- Susan

Edit: FWIW, I think that is "Z" and not an "E." It appears to have been doubled stamped causing some of the letters to mess up. If it was an "E," I think the back line would be more prominent, solid. Looks like the line of the back is absence between what would be the middle and bottom arms of an "E." "Z" would not have any line in that location.

Czech-combo.jpg

Last edited: Oct 15, 2016
    Lucille.b likes this.
  3. daveydempsey

daveydempsey Moderator Moderator

If it was a Z then where is the E
    In English it is spelt Czechoslovakia in Czech it is spelt Československo

Lucille.b and Ladybranch like this.
  4. Ladybranch

Ladybranch Well-Known Member

The
    Gee, I certainly didn't think before writing the above.:oops: Looking at it all again, I suspect it is an "E." The first letter is a bit of a mess. Wonder if it is a C stamped over a Z???