Featured Roses and beads, what to do…..

Discussion in 'Art' started by Houseful, Jul 29, 2024.

1. Houseful

Houseful Well-Known Member

Charity shop buy, frame size is 24 inches by 30 inches. The framers label dates from 1895-1957. Odd that it’s an oil on canvas and been put behind glass. I can’t make out the siggie at the moment, I’ll have to remove it from the frame and ask Aquitaine if she can do her wizardry. The roses look quite nice from a distance unlike the clumsily painted beads which imo spoil the whole painting. What do you think? I’m going to strip the white paint off, there’s gold underneath. When I bought it I thought it would make a nice mirror frame mainly because of the beads. What would you do? I’m an artist myself so I did think I might paint the beads out. I’m confident I could do that well but feel a bit uncomfortable altering someone else’s work. Thanks for any advice.

IMG_6290.jpeg IMG_6292.jpeg IMG_6289.jpeg IMG_6296.jpeg IMG_6291.jpeg IMG_6298.jpeg IMG_6297.jpeg IMG_6294.jpeg

kyratango, judy, stracci and 2 others like this.
  2. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

A nice still life. I agree about the beads.
    Maybe someone can date the vase, so you have an approx. starting date.
    Oh, good. It was once a beautiful frame, but it looks like it is covered in whipped cream.;) Would love to see the result.:)

3. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

A bit fancy but I think that would still be considered an egg and dart motif on the frame. Painting looks mid-ish 20th century. Company name dates it to 1895-1957 but telephone number research should narrow that (way) down.

Debora

Houseful likes this.
  4. bosko69

bosko69 Well-Known Member

5. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Quick internet search... I'm finding that 5-digit telephone number in use by company in 1934. Directional only.

Debora

kyratango, Houseful and wlwhittier like this.
  6. wlwhittier

wlwhittier Well-Known Member