Oil Painting: Black Folk Art or Something Else?

Discussion in 'Art' started by moontymes, Nov 19, 2014.

1. moontymes

moontymes Well-Known Member

I'm having a hard time figuring out if this is very well-done Folk Art or if it's painted by a professional artist. Impressionistic style, so that's why I'm unsure. Label verso from Hatfield's Color Shop in Boston. Any thoughts on this? I feel like the composition is very good but having trouble discerning what kind of art it is. Also, the style of it is very familiar to me, somehow.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. moontymes

Obviously unsigned....

3. johnnycb09

johnnycb09 Well-Known Member

It looks like watercolor ? My first thought was New Orleans, or maybe Haiti ? I like it,and think its better than amateur. But Im no expert.:)

4. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I agree with Johnny, very typical painting from Haiti, however it is a lot better than most of the ones I see. The other are usually a lot more garish colored.
    greg

5. Ladybranch

Ladybranch Well-Known Member

I vote *not* New Orleans if those are bananas on the ground, lower right, in the 1st picture.

--- Susan

6. johnnycb09

I just threw New Orleans out because the architecture reminds me of there. The more I look at this picture,the more I like it ! It could be anywhere in the Caribbean I suppose. I love the colors !

7. moontymes

Well the problem is i bought it because I believed the seller's description that it was Southern and not Haitian! Grrrrrrr. Thanks for all the replies guys. I like the painting too, but was not interested in buying a Haitian piece. i thought it was Charleston, New Orleans or similar.

8. moontymes

9. johnnycb09

I wouldn't rule out a port city yetwich could explain the bannanas,and the women to me look to be more "American" ,mainly because of the dresses and hats. Growing up in the 60s you used to see black ladies wearing headscarves all the time. I dunno,I still think New Orleans.