Mosque lamp, 19th c. Indian?

Discussion in 'Metalware' started by AlexH, Mar 16, 2024.

1. AlexH

AlexH New Member

Interested in finding out more about this, but I haven't found much that looks like it online, especially the brass chainsof animals and human figures. But I am not experienced at searching for antiques. Bought I believe in India in the '60s or '70s, but possibly made in the 19th century?

Attached Files:

Any Jewelry likes this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

AlexH and Any Jewelry like this.
  3. bosko69

bosko69 Well-Known Member

Last edited: Mar 16, 2024
    AlexH and komokwa like this.
  4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

With the deity (photo below) it is more likely an Indian Hindu temple lamp based on a Persian mosque lamp, with some caryatids thrown in for good measure.

[​IMG]

5. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent

Doesn't Islam have prohibitions against portraying the human figure?

komokwa likes this.
  6. Any Jewelry

Not all schools of Islam do. However, portraying humans in a mosque would be highly unusual, even in the more liberal schools. And Hindu deities would be a no no in a mosque.;)

AlexH and komokwa like this.
  7. Bev aka thelmasstuff

Bev aka thelmasstuff Colored pencil artist extraordinaire ;)

I'm going out on a limb to say that hanging chain with elephant and deity does not belong to the lamp. Two very different things. Look at the construction of the lamp and then the construction of the hanger.

8. bosko69

Classical Mosque/Madrasa Lamp-
    [​IMG]