Featured It's an ottoman, of that much I do know....

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by CluelessFarmBoy, Jan 31, 2021.

1. CluelessFarmBoy

CluelessFarmBoy Active Member

Posting this on hopes that someone may help identify this piece of furniture that I found in a sealed off attic in my farmhouse, the farmhouse was built sometime in the early to mid 1800s and I have found newspapers written in french from that time period in the attic as well. I assume this is an ottoman of european manufacture most likey around the same time period but I am no expert so most likely I'm off a bit on my assumptions, what research I have done has turned up nothing of use except that Google keeps matching then intricate designs of the wood to a few different antique furniture pieces from a church. Any insights would be great and thank you in advance Capture 2021-01-31 19.20.13.jpg Capture 2021-01-31 19.19.58.jpg Capture 2021-01-31 19.19.45.jpg Capture 2021-01-31 19.19.31.jpg Capture 2021-01-31 19.19.20.jpg

2. Ghopper1924

Ghopper1924 Well-Known Member

Looks like a walnut ottoman ca. 1870. Beautiful! And you're so lucky to have what looks to be the original fabric!

3. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

A real treat to see original fabric.

Debora

4. CluelessFarmBoy

Thank you for the reply, how would one suggest going about narrowing the down the possible origin of this piece? I have looked it over closely and have not seen any markings but I don't quite know what to look for on something like this. Thanks again!

Ghopper1924 likes this.
  5. Ghopper1924

The vast majority of pieces in the 19th century were not signed. Unless the ottoman is so distinctive as to clearly point to a certain manufacturer, and in the absence of tags, stamps, or receipts it will be extremely difficult to say exactly who made it.