Featured Is this 20th C Meissen?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by KylieS, Sep 27, 2023.

1. KylieS

KylieS Well-Known Member

Hello all, I'm a newbie with porcelain but couldn't resist gambling a (very) little on this platter on the weekend - it is marked for Meissen, has a production number and nicely painted. But I have never had any Meissen before, I know it is faked a lot, and I don't want to put it out there as Meissen if there's a chance that it isn't the real deal.

The mark seems to be correct for the one in use from 1934. Pattern number I think is 134. I have found similar platters by image search, but all others I have seen have been gilded on the border and handles - no sign at all of that on my platter. Otherwise, it is in excellent condition, hardly used.

I would love to hear what you think! Also, I know we don't give values here, but if you have any references as to sites where I could go to see reasonable values that would be great - I'm seeing a LOT of variation so I'm not sure where to pitch this one.

Thanks for looking! 20230924_142524[1].jpg 20230924_191854.jpg 20230924_191833.jpg 20230924_192004.jpg 20230925_090706.jpg 20230925_090628.jpg 20230925_090701.jpg

2. laura9797

laura9797 Well-Known Member

They are still producing Meissen and yes that mark is copied a lot. It looks very much like it is correct and likely late 20th/early 21st century.

3. kentworld

kentworld Well-Known Member

Looks good for Meissen to me.

Figtree3, John Brassey and KylieS like this.
  4. KylieS

KylieS Well-Known Member

Thank you ! Just wondering if there's anything that points to those late dates for you? I saw that mark was in use since 1934, and from what I've seen, other sellers seem to be noting these types of patterns as around 1950s. I'm not an expert at all so just wanting to learn about how you'd attribute a date. Thank you again!

5. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

6. komokwa