Interesting Copper Tankard/Decorative Vase Thingy...How many years young?

Discussion in 'Metalware' started by RachelW, Sep 10, 2023.

1. RachelW

RachelW Well-Known Member

My mother scored this copper tankard (?) at today's vide grenier. I think its simply lovely, but I am curious as to its age. It looks quite old to me, but I have zero knowledge of metalware and would love an expert opinion! We are located in France. Thank you!

IMG_20230910_104702.jpg IMG_20230910_104729.jpg
    IMG_20230910_104718.jpg IMG_20230910_104740.jpg

Born2it, Potteryplease, judy and 5 others like this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

nice , it has that raw look of age........but hard to drink from......:playful::playful:

judy, Figtree3, Boland and 2 others like this.
  3. RachelW

Exactly haha, but its not a pitcher and I've got no other word for it :hilarious:

judy likes this.
  4. bosko69

bosko69 Well-Known Member

Nice piece.I occasionally watch this show-'We Bought a Chateau' because i enjoy history & architecture.Actually the most enjoyable part of the show's when the two brothers,(the couch surfer & the one who actually works),hit local vide grenier & brocantes.
    It's looks as if there's a fair amount of nice cheap stuff found.Nothing i've found like it in the states-all the sellers at Brimfield & Pasadena are checking Lens & Ebay making sure they aint losing 5 bucks.

judy likes this.
  5. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Without tinning inside, this would be dangerous for food or drink.

6. vitry-le-francois

vitry-le-francois Well-Known Member

looks like a small hallmark on the bottom center?

judy, Figtree3, RachelW and 1 other person like this.
  7. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

maybe.....makers mark..?
    there's a design on the base...but it's obscured..

judy, Figtree3 and RachelW like this.
  8. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

There is also a ribbon like set of letters to the right of center.