Hi from Northumberland UK

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Vikki Carr, Jan 10, 2017.

1. Vikki Carr

Vikki Carr Member

Hi everyone, I'm Vikki, 34 and from Northumberland.
    Just thought I'd say hi and tell you a bit about me. I'm currently writing my first novel and in my spare time trying my hand at restoring old furniture.
    I've always been a lover of art and have grown up with an artist mother, which is were most of my knowledge has come from.
    I'm now keen on expanding my knowledge and venturing into the world of antique furniture, it's kind of 'watch this space' to see which avenue or furniture I go down. I'm leaning towards Elizabethan times as I find it beautiful.
    I'm very new to this world and will probably make a prat of myself but it's all a learning curve, so be nice ;)

2. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

Welcome! :)
    Is your novel's subject a secret?
    What media does your Mom work in?

Joshua Brown and Vikki Carr like this.
  3. Vikki Carr

Vikki Carr Member

My novel is based around a military mans life and how he deals with the transition from army life to civilian life while trying to over come a life changing injury. It's something that's close to my heart.
    My mother dabbles in everything, but she excels in modern visual. She prefers working with oils, claims they are less argumentative and it's easier to blend colours.

Joshua Brown and KingofThings like this.
  4. KingofThings

Sounds quite interesting. :)
    Let us know when it is complete. There are a number of veterans here including me.
    Pardon me when I ask if this is based on a family member?
    ~
    Does Mom do portraits, landscapes or???
    Has she ever done assemblage or sculpture?

Joshua Brown likes this.
  5. Vikki Carr

Vikki Carr Member