Help

Discussion in 'Books' started by a.makarius, Apr 27, 2021.

1. a.makarius

a.makarius New Member

Hello.
    have a nice day)
    I have this book. Who can tell what kind of book it is and when and by whom it was published? umIBE26D-IU.jpg 0p4_PbxMjw0.jpg ва.jpg

Any Jewelry likes this.
  2. Ce BCA

Ce BCA Well-Known Member

Cross on the front suggests it's a religious book, perhaps a prayer book? Language is German. Are there no details on the first or last few pages with a title, date, publishing details etc?

3. Hamburger

Hamburger Absolute Beginner

As Ce BCA says, the title pages would help enormously -- the book most probably has text saying exactly what it is! ;)

The pages you show include verses from German protestant hymns. Possibly a book with hymns and readings ordered according to the church year?

Aquitaine and KikoBlueEyes like this.
  4. a.makarius

a.makarius New Member

the title page and the first and last pages are missing.

KikoBlueEyes likes this.
  5. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Looks like it is a so-called Service Book (like a priest's manual for mass), photo 2 has texts for the Introïtus (start of mass) for every day of Advent.

Last edited: Apr 27, 2021
    KikoBlueEyes and Ce BCA like this.
  6. Hamburger

Hamburger Absolute Beginner

It could be. But it could also be a hymn book published for a much wider audience.

I've just checked a much more recent Evangelisches Gesangbuch here at home and the 1600+ pages include similar detail.

A few more pages really would help, especially any lists (of Sundays or psalms or first lines of hymns, for example) or index pages.

KikoBlueEyes and Any Jewelry like this.
  7. Ex Libris

Ex Libris Well-Known Member