HELP WITH NAME - IS THAT A NAME? ON SMALL ANTIQUE PAINTING

Discussion in 'Art' started by journeymagazine, Sep 6, 2018.

1. journeymagazine

journeymagazine Well-Known Member

I found this at an estate sale last week, but just now got time to look at it. I like it (but if you've read my other posts for help/info, you know I am NOT a art expert!), but I couldn't make the signature (initials). Then when I cropped & enlarged the area it looks like it might not be a signature at all!
    I'd appreciate any help - if you look at the 4th photo in the corner where the canvas meets the frame it looks like a 3 letter name/initials (ETA?) PLUS(!) if you look catty corner (up & a little to the right) it also looks like a 3 letter name or initials in yellow - until I enlarge it (photo 5)
    Are either artist's name/initials?
    Thanks in advance for any help/thoughts.
    AA EBAY NEW A ART PAINTING ANTIQUE SMALL 1AA.jpg AA EBAY NEW A ART PAINTING ANTIQUE SMALL 2AAA.jpg AA EBAY NEW A ART PAINTING ANTIQUE SMALL 2AA.jpg AA EBAY NEW A ART PAINTING ANTIQUE SMALL 2CAAAA.jpg
    AA EBAY NEW A ART PAINTING ANTIQUE SMALL 3AA.jpg AA EBAY NEW A ART PAINTING ANTIQUE SMALL 4AA.jpg

Christmasjoy and judy like this.
  2. Bev aka thelmasstuff

Bev aka thelmasstuff Colored pencil artist extraordinaire ;)

It does look like something. I see a capital T

Christmasjoy likes this.
  3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

I think I can discern a T or F, but I can't see what comes after that exactly. At least 3 more letters.

Christmasjoy and judy like this.
  4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

It looks like somewhere in the Low Countries, in this case Belgium or The Netherlands.

judy and Christmasjoy like this.
  5. Jivvy

Jivvy the research is my favorite

I "see" a letter "T"... I would not bet money on whether it's really there.

6. sabre123

sabre123 Well-Known Member