help need to determine age and value of wooden rocking horse

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by DanDaMan, Jan 29, 2018.

1. DanDaMan

DanDaMan New Member

Newbie here. Bought a wooden rocking horse last year - bought from a garage sale in Calgary Alberta Canada (not gonna say yet what I paid for it - but will later in the posts)

As per picture, it is solid wood, but not 1 piece as various pieces are glued together. It has real horse hair, real leather saddle, real metal riens. It has a tag on the bottom saying "Royal Furniture, Peshawar (Pakistan)".

I've searched all over the internet, craigslist (Canada and US wide) and ebay, and can't find a single thing on this. I'd really like to know the age of this, and a rough estimate on value.

Any ideas[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Figtree3 and scoutshouse like this.
  2. judy

judy Well-Known Member

Welcome to Antiquers Dan.

Looks pretty recent, and the tag tells you from where it originated.

I didn't have any luck finding another for sale on the net, but perhaps someone else will.

3. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

Welcome Dan. We had a rocking horse under discussion a little while back. I posted a link there that may be informative.

judy, scoutshouse and kristiaan like this.
  4. kristiaan

kristiaan Well-Known Member

+1!

scoutshouse and judy like this.
  5. Erstwhile

Erstwhile Active Member

6. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Pakistan implies after 1947.

judy likes this.
  7. DanDaMan

DanDaMan New Member

Thanks for that - that looks almost exact except mine has the real horse tail vs wood. Based on the link, the value new is about $1000CDN plus shipping. So based on the link, I assume mine is not really that old (less than 20 yrs) - though would you suggest this has more value being it was imported from Pakistan and rare in Canada and US? What would you suggest is a fair market value for it? Anyone want to guess what I paid for it at the garage sale?

Thanks

judy likes this.
  8. judy