Featured French Art Deco Glass by Maurice Model

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by ritzyvintage, Feb 7, 2021.

1. ritzyvintage

ritzyvintage Well-Known Member

I've been fortunate to have owned several highly desirable items by Maurice Model, as I have been studying is work closely for well over 30 years. He is a relatively little known French working artist which is mainly due to his factory being demolished during WWII just 9 years after he founded it. A school now sits on the site in Verdun, where they also showcase a very small collection of his work.

His work as also often been dismissed or overlooked because of the way many of his items are signed. His name is pronounced "Mod-dell" however his signature (when it is evident) appears to be MODEL as if to be 'a model of something.'

Most of his work was also produced for export only to USA and also surprisingly perhaps to Japan during the mid 1930s. It has also been generally thought over the years that he only produced a small variety of glass car hood mascots which has added to his other items being overlooked, such as some incredible lamps & chandeliers, clocks and also sculptures, many of which are unique. I have also been able to establish that designed several large sculpture patterns for Sabino, and that he was also responsible for at least one glass vase design for Etling. More recently one of his vases was produced using an original mould in USA by Sarsaparilla, examples of which often appear on eBay for less than $50 however, original examples of this particular vase can command prices of $500+

I've added a few photo's of several examples from my collection, and also of a Maurice Model amethyst glass Chandelier which I am currently purchasing on a Layaway plan. It is exceptionally rare and is thought to be unique. Single pendant examples in peach-coloured glass can be found online with prices exceeding $6,500.