Featured Expert of Ancient Gold Ring Please

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by shamster, Aug 6, 2024.

1. shamster

shamster Well-Known Member

I know this is an antique not an ancient forum lol- and not that ancient, but is there anyone who can share some thoughts on these gold rings dated 1300s to 1500s please? Does the texture, quality, stone cut feel suspicious to you? I feel like my paranoid strikes again-for no reason! Grateful to any comments!
    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg

2. johnnycb09

johnnycb09 Well-Known Member

Im no expert but those sure look like the real deal to me. Im torn between the ruby and the sapphire !

3. shamster

Thank you, yeah I agree as I have not yet seen another example of known fake that was executed so finely for a not so popular market compared to Roman or Viking gold. Btw the blue one is actually a glass tho!:happy:

4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Didn't you post the Renaissance enamel ring before, with better photos?

Could you photograph each ring separately please, and from different sides? Not on your finger or hand please, but the ring only. It is best to photograph them on a white background, a piece of paper will do.
    Also closeups of the stones/glass please.:)

Btw, none of them are 1300s imo, and the timeframe should go up to 1600s.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2024
  5. shamster

They're not currently with me but here are some photos taken from the past:

1.jpg 3.jpg 2.jpg

Actually I've posted the blue one to a forum about ancient fakes and people there thought it's genuine post medieval. The green and red one sold to me as late medieval/early renaissance, so should fall in 1300s-1500s. There's one almost identical to the green one found in york last year, and they thought it's 1200s to 1400s. Link here:https://finds.org.uk/database/artefacts/record/id/1099841

johnnycb09, kyratango and Any Jewelry like this.
  6. shamster

7. Any Jewelry