Featured Dutch cream spoons (roomlepels) aka 'monkey spoons'...

Discussion in 'Silver' started by DragonflyWink, Aug 18, 2024.

1. DragonflyWink

DragonflyWink Well-Known Member

A few weeks ago a member of a silver discussion group asked me to provide information on the 'monkey spoon' story since I've been gathering it for over twenty years - thought I'd share it here as well.

When I was an active dealer, I sold quite a few of these eccentric Dutch spoons over the years, usually called 'monkey spoons' in the US, they're actually cream spoons, but will admit to including the term as a keyword when selling, the misidentification is just so widespread. These are the four that remain in my collection:

roomlepels-mine-01 (1).jpg

roomlepels-mine-02 (1).jpg

roomlepels-mine-03 (1).jpg

roomlepels-mine-marks-composite.jpg

The first two are wrought, without cast handles and elements - the first has an 1871 date mark, 2nd standard lion (.833), Minerva-head w/'F' (Leeuwarden), the maker's mark looks like '10' or '18' over 'R'; the second has an 1892 date mark, 2nd standard lion (.833), Minerva-head w/'F' (Leeuwarden), the maker's mark is obscured; the third bears Hanau pseudo-marks attributed to Neresheimer, 1898 London import marks for John George Smith; the fourth has a 2nd standard lion (.833), maker's mark is 'JPN' over '1', used 1899/1900 by J.P. Niekerk (Schoonhoven), the other marks likely covered by an old repair.