Does this look like silver?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Roger67, Feb 16, 2016.

1. Roger67

Roger67 Well-Known Member

I've had this awhile too. It's about 5 inch long and has a lion on top of handle. It looks like it could have a mark on the back but there's no way to make it out. I have looked through loupe still not seeing it. Does it look like silver? Magnet not sticking. THANKS
    IMG_1523.JPG IMG_1525.JPG IMG_1526.JPG IMG_1527.JPG

2. springfld.arsenal

springfld.arsenal Store: http://www.springfieldarsenal.net/

I'm no silver expert but lack of knowledge never stops me from posting anyway. I vote not silver because unless you used some unusual lighting for the photo, the color is more yellow than sterling silver should be. Also the casting isn't very good. So I suspect that this is a souvenir item as opposed to fine dinnerware, and it is made of one of the many different imitation silver alloys.

3. TheOLdGuy

TheOLdGuy Well-Known Member

No, it's white metal. I have the exact same and about ten others of varying sizes. Half of them make a nice grouping on the wall, centered by a 6x11 soldier chocolate mold.
    Back of yours says Italy.
    Collectible, but won't buy you a new car. Maybe $3, $4 each on a decent day.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2016
    Bakersgma likes this.
  4. Roger67

Thanks yeah that's what I thought!! It will go in my next yard sale :rolleyes:

5. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Definitely Italian, probably 20th century and unlikely to be solid silver (without a fineness mark anywhere.) Came as part of a 5 or 6 piece set of similar small utensils. Souvenir item but can't tell which city this one represents.

6. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

I would like to know what it says on the back of the fork

upload_2016-2-16_9-22-22.png

Adding:
    If it says Italy, then silver plate.
    If it says 835, then a lower quality silver.

7. scoutshouse

scoutshouse Well-Known Member