Determining Authenticity and/or Age of Furniture?

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Boring Mysteries, Apr 1, 2023.

1. I am wondering if anyone has any general tips or advice for ascertaining the authenticity of older-looking furniture, particularly any midcentury modern style pieces as they are very trendy and in high demand. Because of the trend, numerous manufacturers put out furniture designed to look like it was made in, say, the 1960's, but was in fact made in this decade.

I'm relatively new to the game here - beyond a fascination with collecting things, scoping out thrift stores for hidden antiques, and a lifelong obsession with Antiques Roadshow, I don't have much experience "appraising" items. I work at a second hand furniture store now, so I come across many different items and I often find myself fixating on certain ones, determined to find its origin/age/manufacturer. Stuff of relatively little consequence (hence my username) but still very engrossing for me.

For instance, I came across this couch, which based on the fact that it's a trundle bed and its design, I believed could be from the 1940's.
    IMG_1597.jpg
    I figured it had been reupholstered and that explained the surprisingly good condition. But when I looked up "Parkhill" - which is the name underneath - I was led to the website of a contemporary furniture company who design pieces in the style of older furniture.

I realized how easy it is to be fooled so of course I researched things like determining types of wood, techniques, etc. found in genuine midcentury furniture. Still, I've come across certain items that I struggle to place.