Damaged/ possible mis strike coins help please?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by MissMessyE, Oct 15, 2022.

1. MissMessyE

MissMessyE New Member

Hello everyone! I've had wonderful help here in the past from very nice and knowledgeable people with information about other interesting old items. I am hoping someone can assist me with my new (and probably continuing) questions about coins. I am helping a non-computer using friend clear out his house, and we would like to know if anyone would be kind enough to share their smarts about these coins. (I have tried to sign up to the Coin Talk site to no avail, and I have read the troubleshooting thread re: sign up difficulty issues but still have had no success even after multiple attempts with new email addresses and the like. Oh drat!)
    It looks like (to my untrained eye, I am a coin newbie!) that these may or may not have just been damaged by being smooshed or otherwise banged up by someone just bashing them around, but maybe there is a mis strike or other manufacturing error in the bunch? Apologies for not knowing the proper terminology. Any guidance you can give would be very much appreciated! Thank you very much!

Attached Files:

2. Rob Langdon

Rob Langdon Well-Known Member

Because they are all curled, I think they are all post-mint damage.

Woutinc and Roaring20s like this.
  3. MissMessyE

MissMessyE New Member

Thank you very much Rob! I appreciate your knowledge!

Rob Langdon likes this.
  4. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

To my completely inexpert eye, these look deliberately mangled by someone playing around with hitting, cutting & punching them in different ways.

Born2it and komokwa like this.
  5. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

a mis strike wil not bend and mangle the coin

Bronwen likes this.
  6. MissMessyE

MissMessyE New Member

Thank you Bronwen!

7. MissMessyE

MissMessyE New Member

Thank you very much, I appreciate your expertise!

8. Born2it