Daguerreotype vs Ambrotype Identification?

Discussion in 'Ephemera and Photographs' started by Jerry Coker, Feb 19, 2021.

1. Jerry Coker

Jerry Coker Active Member

New member here. I've been collecting 20th century photographs for many years and just started dipping my toes into 19th century photography. I recently purchased a few Tin Types, CDV's & Cabinets. The lot also contains what look like a few Daguerreotypes or Ambrotypes. I cannot definitively tell which. I've read about the various Daguerreotype sizes, reflective/mirror like quality, backings, etc., but I'm still not certain these are Daguerreotypes. The sizing matches, but neither seem to have a mirror like quality. Was wondering if someone could take a peek at the images below, and enlighten me on what type photographs these might be? As an aside, is it common for eBay sellers and the like to remove Daguerreotype photos and put in Tin Types? I noticed some the Daguerreotypes I've seen on eBay seem to have fuzzy language about the provenance of the cases, photos within, and sometimes type of photo (Daguerreotype vs Ambrotype vs Tin Type). Just want to try to educate myself in case I decide to purchase any more Daguerreotypes. Thanks in advance for any feedback/comments.

IMG_4121.JPG IMG_4122.JPG IMG_4123.JPG IMG_4120.JPG IMG_4120.JPG

2. Roaring20s

Roaring20s Well-Known Member

3. Jerry Coker

Thanks James, I found that website last night, very helpful. I think my biggest hang up at present is that it's hard to tell about the mirror like reflection that I've read about. It may be I need to remove the photos from the casings, which I've been hesitant to do. So looking at the ones with the case glass makes it hard to tell because of the case glass. The one w/o the glass looks a little like a tin type to me, but I'm pretty new to 19th century photography. I guess I'll remove the photos to get a better look. Maybe that is my problem :) Thanks for the quick reply/link!

4. blooey

blooey Well-Known Member