Cuban Hand Painted Pottery Plate

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by kardinalisimo, Nov 27, 2018.

1. kardinalisimo

kardinalisimo Well-Known Member

0C85A1BD-56AD-4B4F-9A9D-A2C6E976A43F.jpeg 5761CC0E-F987-42A8-9C6A-23247C2BC984.jpeg 0F7E33FC-F1BA-4872-B219-DABEC34B431D.jpeg E69C2706-0757-44DC-86B7-0FEC13C67884.jpeg EC3B49F7-F5A4-41EF-9349-4B0BC88C1733.jpeg Trying to ID the artist. Also, what’s the subject about?
    Thanks

Any Jewelry likes this.
  2. msgood2shoe

msgood2shoe Well-Known Member

I'm far from an art expert, but I believe the artist was attempting to paint in the Cubist style. It has a native/tribal look to it, from a Cubist POV.

i need help likes this.
  3. kardinalisimo

4. msgood2shoe

msgood2shoe Well-Known Member

I thought about the similarities between the name of the style and Cuba LOL

5. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

Cuba-ist?

i need help likes this.
  6. Mansons2005

Mansons2005 Nasty by Nature, Curmudgeon by Choice

Not sure where you sell, but anything Cuba (like my set of cocktail napkins) is prohibited on eBay. Of course you may already know that and if so I apologize for poking in!

judy and Any Jewelry like this.
  7. kardinalisimo

No idea that Cuba was prohibited on Ebay. Let me see first if I can ID the artist and the symbolism of the image and then I’ll see what to do with it. I doubt it’s an expensive piece so I can just keep it.

8. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

It is prohibited to sell embargoed goods from Cuba on eBay but I'd assume that means items bought and imported directly from Cuba. There are many, many items from Cuba listed on eBay, including ceramics.

Debora

Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
  9. evelyb30

I've sold vintage pre-Revolution Cuban souvenirs before. No problem with those.

10. Mansons2005