Cranberry Opalescent Spiral Optic Vase - Fenton or ?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Charlotte, Feb 18, 2015.

1. Charlotte

Charlotte Member

Hi Everyone. I'm new to joining the forum, though I have been lurking and learning, and hope I will be able to contribute. However, that remains to be seen, as my experience in the antiques/collectibles field has been quite eclectic ……. I know a little bit about a lot of things.

My question involves this cranberry opalescent spiral optic vase measuring 5 1/2 inches high. I feel this is an earlier Fenton Glass piece (before they were marked with the Fenton logo) and the identical vase is shown in many Fenton books as #3160CR made during the 1950s. What is puzzling is the number 5 that appears to be molded into the glass on the base. I have shown one image from the bottom where you can faintly see the reversed 5. In another image, looking down into the vase, I have drawn a crude line around the 5.

Does anyone know if Fenton ever marked pieces in this manner, or if another maker marked their pieces with a number like this? The Fenton vases are identified as 5 inch in the reference books, even though the actual measurements vary a little. So, perhaps, that number referenced the size? I have just never seen it before on any Fenton I have had….... unless it was so faint, I missed it. It is very difficult to see.

Thanks for any insight into this mystery.

fenton-swirl-vase-1698.jpg

fenton-swirl-vase-1698-4.jpg

fenton-swirl-vase-1698-5.jpg

cxgirl likes this.
  2. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

That is an odd mark.
    Don't know if it was intentionally marked that way.

It's listed on page 232 in Fenton Art Glass, 3160CR 5" vase made between 1950 and 1960
    Color is Cranberry Spiral Optic

3. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

Oh, pardon me. I just realized you already knew it was Fenton 3160.