Copper tray - age and origin?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Natalia006, Oct 11, 2023.

1. Natalia006

Natalia006 Member

I bought this 30cm tray dish made from copper.

Any idea about how old it is and the exact origin? Might be Arabic and Islamic.

If it's vintage and not antique, I apologize for posting on here, I have no clue about the age!

KSW likes this.
  2. Natalia006

Natalia006 Member

3. Natalia006

Natalia006 Member

4. Natalia006

Natalia006 Member

Finally figured it out, bear with me guys lol

Attached Files:

Any Jewelry likes this.
  5. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Probably Moroccan. Not antique, but don't worry about posting it here.:)

You found out how to add photos to a post, yay! But next time, please click on the 'Full Image' button at the bottom of your post.

6. Natalia006

Natalia006 Member

Thank you so much! And I will keep in mind the full image button for the next time.

As a beginner, I find it very difficult to know what is antique and what isn't! I thought this is antique because it is tarnished/oxidized copper, that shows a lot of signs of age, it is manually hand-carved, and google lens suggests antique.

What is the defining factor for you that it is not antique? Is there a clearer sign I need to look out for, or is it just your general knowledge of when an object was used in which country?

How old would you estimate this plate to be?

Thanks a lot for helping me :)

the blacksmith and Any Jewelry like this.
  7. Natalia006

Natalia006 Member

8. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

it's nice.....but if u look carefully at the design...lines cross over one another....they are choppy, and rushed.....
    not a high quality item... imo

the blacksmith, bluumz and Houseful like this.
  9. 808 raver

808 raver Well-Known Member