Controlled bubble glass bowl ... possibly Erickson?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by aaroncab, Mar 30, 2018.

1. aaroncab

aaroncab in veritate victoria

Just searching around on the internet got me thinking this could possibly be Erickson ...but it has a somewhat rough pontil scar - from what I read, most Erickson has polished pontil scars - although some might not be polished. Might this be Erickson or more likely ...chinese? The bottom does have wear consistent with some good age on it. 5" across and weighs 20 oz.

~

27212081738_108cf8053e_kdev.jpg 40190753675_face0a1928_kdev.jpg 26213281977_44149b749c_kdev.jpg 40375377484_61c2fbff2d_kdev.jpg 27212088848_8776161841_kdev.jpg 39275591500_892c7bb8cb_kdev.jpg

Aquitaine likes this.
  2. buyingtime777

buyingtime777 Well-Known Member

It doesn't strike me as Chinese but I am far from an expert in such things. The Chinese stuff is always a bit over the top and gaudy in my way of thinking though and this just doesn't fit that bill.

aaroncab and judy like this.
  3. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Looks more like Whitefriars with a bad pontil. That happens.

aaroncab and judy like this.
  4. George Nesmith

George Nesmith Well-Known Member

Your asktray is shown on page 17 of Knower's book on Erikson. There does not appear to be a model or shape number/name that I can make out.

Figtree3, Aquitaine and aaroncab like this.
  5. aaroncab

Thank you George - very much appreciated.

6. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

It STILL blows my mind (what there is of it....) how they can control bubbles in a piece they are making.............? :confused::confused::rolleyes:

buyingtime777 likes this.
  7. Cherryhill

Cherryhill Well-Known Member