Ciao tutti!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by marcea, Nov 2, 2015.

1. marcea

marcea New Member

Hi everyone!

My name is Marcea, happy to join you all here. I am an Italian/American living in Florence, Italy, hailing from the beautiful San Francisco, California. I studied at the University of California, Berkeley, and am now taking a dip into the life of antiques.

Recently I have made a friend/contact here in Florence who owns a very successful, local Antique business in Florence. He is looking to expand to the United States and I am attempting to help him do this. Since I am new to the antique world, I am doing a lot of research on my own to understand the best ways to make contacts to people in the United States who might be interested in buying fine antiques.

Any advice is appreciated and I am looking forward to learning a lot.

2. silverthwait

silverthwait Well-Known Member

Welcome! There are people here who can certainly help. :)

KingofThings likes this.
  3. Jen and George

Jen and George Well-Known Member

Greetings.

KingofThings likes this.
  4. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    The biggest problem you will be facing is the postal system in Italy. Most people have horror stories about stuff disappearing or having it show up weeks later. I am glad to report that the nine parcels I sent to Italy showed up on time. Others have so many problems they do not ship to Italy at all.
    greg

KingofThings likes this.
  5. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

Hi Marcea....& welcome.

1st off ..if he's very successful, why incur all the problems of shipping to the US.
    2nd... never mind the contacts until you've done a complete investigation of what's involved in shipping abroad from Italy....a lot of folks won't ship TO Italy because of the unreliable postal system.