Featured Chinese Silk Embroidered Skirt Panels

Discussion in 'Textiles, Needle Arts, Clothing' started by acvintage, Mar 22, 2022.

1. acvintage

acvintage Member

Chinese Silk Embroidery - I have two matching sections which look like sections from some of the antique Chinese Qing Dynasty silk skirts I've found online. Mine are in such new looking, unused condition that I really need help with age and any other useful information. Any help appreciated.

forum32222_2.JPG
    forum32222_1.JPG

forum32222_3.JPG

Last edited: Mar 22, 2022
    judy, komokwa and Houseful like this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

3. KikoBlueEyes

KikoBlueEyes Well-Known Member

Looks like hand work to me - the stitches are uneven - this is a good sign. The underlying brocade does not appear to be silk though. I am no expert on fabrics, but silk has a thin, flat look in my experience. The embroidery itself may well be silk. Silk thread holds its color well. The design is simple and the stitches are broad. Higher quality designs have smaller stitches and more varied types of stitches. This is all I can discern. I collect different kind of work, so I can't help with age. I am still learning myself.

judy and komokwa like this.
  4. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

I thought the same thing about the fabric. Doesn't have the age or quality I would expect. What does the reverse look like?

Debora

KikoBlueEyes likes this.
  5. acvintage

acvintage Member

I've attached four photos. The first two are the reverse. The one with the ruler is the front, shows scale and a hidden butterfly. Can't show the embroidery back of this section as it is lined.

The last photo is an add'l view of the back. The golden ground is like a semi sheer mesh like damask.

The embroidery work, black inserts and blue emb inserts are definitely silk.

forum32322_001.JPG

forum32322_003.JPG

forum32322_002.JPG

forum32322_004.JPG

Last edited: Mar 23, 2022
    KikoBlueEyes likes this.
  6. bluumz