Chelsea or Samson Copy Draped Lady

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by StaceyFinds, Sep 14, 2022.

1. StaceyFinds

StaceyFinds Active Member

I found this piece recently at my local Salvation Army for $6 (which I was super excited about).

My question is, is this a legitimate Chelsea figurine (as the previous owner believed because of the label they placed on the bottom), or could it be a Samson copy? While researching Chelsea, I see a lot of warnings about Samson copies of different porcelain manufacturers (although still nice pieces), so I was wondering if anyone on here has knowledge enough to help me figure it out? Does anyone know when this piece may date to?

It looks legitimate to me, but I am new to researching antique porcelain.
    I’m having a hard time finding this specific figurine with google image to know what to call her. It has the gold anchor on the base and is approximately 11.5” tall.

Thank you for any help!

79D38ABE-6B57-4D36-B593-08D043CECC79.jpeg 0C2A976E-D40D-49AD-85D9-4F448C640F2F.jpeg 255F5817-0291-412D-B140-9DDAA39D2ED4.jpeg 172A4044-6F19-468F-AC90-2DD3FEDF6D4F.jpeg 6341D557-4270-42BD-9D20-DAB0ED1A7A3C.jpeg 2F270678-6B5A-4D51-B6BB-7CBFEAE799AF.jpeg F355AB9F-950A-41E9-9C56-D99E69023193.jpeg

kyratango and komokwa like this.
  2. Houseful

Houseful Well-Known Member

kyratango and Roaring20s like this.
  3. Houseful

Houseful Well-Known Member

4. StaceyFinds

Thank you for the reply. No, they’re not damaged. It seems like they painted her to look like she’s wearing fingerless gloves.

kyratango and johnnycb09 like this.
  5. johnnycb09

johnnycb09 Well-Known Member

The Chelsea mark is copied as much as the Meissen crossed swords mark . To me the face just doesnt seem quite up to Chelsea standards,but Im often wrong. Shes very pretty nonetheless. Can you peel that tape/sticker back ? I see an incised 100,wondering if theres something else.

kyratango and Houseful like this.
  6. StaceyFinds