Featured Bushwacker Basket ?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Calico, Oct 27, 2016.

1. Calico

Calico Well-Known Member

I picked up this great basket last week and was wondering if this is a Taghkanic Bushwacker basket ? It's large at 14" x 9" not including the stationary handle. Nice and heavy, very solid. Push up bottom and notched handles, tapered slats but I'm no basket expert.
    Any thoughts as to age/origin ?
    Thank you !
    basket17a.jpg basket17.jpg basket18.jpg basket19.jpg basket20.jpg

2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

Yup.....turn of the century Taconic gathering basket.....

That upturned start on the bottom is a key indicator ...

[​IMG]

Your pics seem so show it being red oak.....but that might just be my screen color...
    the one above is white oak..

3. Calico

Calico Well-Known Member

Thank you komokwa. :) Mine isn't really red, just darker than the one you posted, more a darker brown. For some reason my camera turned it red. It was raining yesterday or I would have taken the picture in natural light.

Aquitaine, Ghopper1924 and tyeldom3 like this.
  4. Calico

Calico Well-Known Member

komokwa, can you think of a wood that would turn a burnished goldtone patina (but not painted) used for a basket ? I have another large basket with decent age to it and it has a burnished golden patina in areas.

5. komokwa

Well even that white oak has a reddish hue...

Calico....!! I gotta see what you're talking about !!:peeking::peeking::pics::pics::pics::pics:;)

Aquitaine and Ghopper1924 like this.
  6. Calico

Calico Well-Known Member

komokwa, taking a closer look it seems as though it IS paint, mostly faded but visible in some areas, the flash really brings it out.
    This is a big basket, 16" across.
    What do you think, spray painted long ago for Christmas maybe ? :confused:
    basket21.jpg basket22.jpg basket23.jpg basket24.jpg

7. Mansons2005

Mansons2005 Nasty by Nature, Curmudgeon by Choice