Bracelet in Silver, possibly Jade?

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Chevellet, Sep 29, 2016.

1. Chevellet

Chevellet Member

I am cataloging a piece for a museum and would love to know more about this bracelet. It measures 7" circum. and has a stamp on the inside that reads "STERLING 900 (unreadable) MEX". The stones are cold and feel like stone on the tooth test. They are also somewhat translucent. I am hesitant to call it jade because I am no expert. I am most interested in an approximate date. The residents of the historic house that we operate lived here from 1914 to 2004, but we prefer to display items from 1924 to 1945.

Any help you can offer is appreciated.

2008.001c.JPG 2008.001e.JPG 2008.001g.JPG 1-2008.001h.JPG

2. Chevellet

Chevellet Member

Figtree3 likes this.
  3. Hollyblue

Hollyblue Well-Known Member

"Mexican jade" is a term for a number of stones used in Mexico.The stones on the bracelet appear to be Mexican onyx/travertine.

4. Marie Forjan

Marie Forjan Well-Known Member

The only way to be sure is to have it tested. I know it is marked 900 silver (which is not sterling, sterling is 925), but I have had Mexican jewelry marked silver that turned out to have no silver in it at all.

I'm pretty sure the unreadable part of the mark is "Hecho en Mexico" which means made in Mexico.

Also, I would not use items for sale as reference, especially listings on eBay. No one polices them and there are lots and lots of listings that are, at best, inaccurate.

If you need to make sure for your catalog I would take it to someone who can confirm the metal and test the stones.

yourturntoloveit likes this.
  5. tyeldom3

tyeldom3 Well-Known Member

There is an "E" before sterling right? Esterling or Esterline? Because like Marie said sterling is 925 not 900. I've seen a few listed under both names but no concrete info (yet) about the maker/date. Maybe someone will have more information.

6. Chevellet

Chevellet Member