Featured Astley D M Cooper Oil Painting Questions

Discussion in 'Art' started by techbiker, Jan 30, 2022.

1. techbiker

techbiker Well-Known Member

front.jpg back.jpg Howdy,

I just purchased what I believe is an 1886 Astley D. M. Cooper oil painting on board in the original frame. Unfortunately, a crack runs through the middle of the board and the painting is covered in a heavy patina. As it sits, the painting is honestly not very attractive.

I'm a decent trim carpenter however I have no experience restoring older oil-on-board paintings. I'd like to get the board crack repaired and the front cleaned to stabilize and partially restore the painting. What would typically be done here on a relatively limited budget? Since the primary concern is the crack in the board, I don't mind settling for a basic clean. If it comes down to it though, I'd rather do nothing than risk doing something that harms the painting.

Also do you think this is an original Astley D.M. Cooper painting?

Thanks a bunch!

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2022
    charlie cheswick, Figtree3 and judy like this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

I can't see the signature.......can u show a close up....

plus....
    have u verified that writing on the back.......or is that yours?

3. techbiker

Those are just pictures from the online sale yesterday unfortunately. When I receive the painting this week, I will definitely take more/ better pictures. I just wanted to jump on this in case I need to take any special precautions while unboxing and handling the painting given the large crack. Attached is another picture of the front from a different angle.

I haven't verified the writing on the back. It's also from the sale. The seller says that the painting is from an estate and the provenance has not been completely verified due to the smudged signature.