Featured Any experts on English 19th century paintings?

Discussion in 'Art' started by IssyB, Jan 2, 2022.

1. IssyB

IssyB New Member

Screenshot_20211226-161923_Firefox-01-01.jpeg Screenshot_20211228-190829_Firefox-01.jpeg 20211229_181651.jpg 20211229_181630.jpg 20220103_012016.jpg 20220103_012026.jpg I need some help on this to ID artist, and to maybe proffer some insight as to whether it is genuine. I am a novice here!

Early 19th century English school, oil on canvas (so I bought as).

Measures 51.5 cm x 62cm. Unframed.

Bought online in UK.

There does appear to be a signature lower right hand side, but I can't make out what it might be.

It does need some restoration, but before I lay out hundreds, I'd like to try and find out whether worth it first.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2022
  2. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Well, that's a sad little scene. Unusual shackles. Fagin is wearing what appears to be an identical pair here.

Debora

ot24.jpg

moreotherstuff and IssyB like this.
  3. IssyB

IssyB New Member

It is a little sad, but even in its rather poor condition, something in it called out to me!

4. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent

You can have it restored, but I wonder if you will ever do more than get back the cost of restoration.

Has it been relined? The corner almost looks like the picture is on a substrate that has been laid onto the present canvas.

20220103_012026.jpg

Not sure.

Early Victorian?

Debtor's prison?

Last edited: Jan 2, 2022
    dude and IssyB like this.
  5. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

It does appear to be an early Victorian British genre painting. Would you post a photograph of the frame? They provide lots of information. And what's written on the back besides "Top?"

Debora

dude likes this.
  6. IssyB

IssyB New Member

A substrate? Sorry, you are talking to a novice here! Do you mean painted on a layer and then laid on canvas? If so, yes, it does look like that.