Antique Gulliver's Travels Printed in 1826 Found in Old Basement

Discussion in 'Books' started by memoryhole, Jul 9, 2016.

?

Suggestions for a fair asking price?

1. <10

100.0%
  2. $10-25

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. $26-50

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. $51-75

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. >75

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. memoryhole

memoryhole Memory Hole Vintage

I found this copy of Gulliver's travels in the basement of a building built in 1896.

The title page says:

LONDON
    PRINTED FOR HECTOR McLEAN
    16, SALISBURY STREET, STRAND.

I am new to antique book collecting. This book seems to have some stains throughout that seem more like age spots. Based on the supplied photos, what condition would you say the book is in? Any suggestions for a fair asking price?

Thanks!

20160709_152819.jpg 20160709_152833.jpg 20160709_152851.jpg 20160709_152906.jpg 20160709_152919.jpg 20160709_152932.jpg

lauragarnet and KingofThings like this.
  2. afantiques

afantiques Well-Known Member

I'm sorry to say that in old book terms that is not all that old.

It would really need to be almost 100 years older to commmand a half decent price.

KingofThings likes this.
  3. memoryhole

Thanks for that info! Ya I don't expect it to be worth much, but don't really know what to mark it.

KingofThings likes this.
  4. yourturntoloveit

yourturntoloveit Well-Known Member

Afantiques, I am curious . . . do you think (in general?) the "book market" in the United States (and perhaps more importantly in some geographic areas of the USA) would perhaps be more "robust" for an 1826 book printed in England/Great Britain?

I wonder if perhaps the British book market is so used to finding/having books of this date and sort (given that it is a "London" book) that they are less interested in having one of this "recent" date.

My point being that in the USA perhaps there is more interest in a book published in London with a date of 1826 (young in some eyes though it may be).;)

KingofThings likes this.