Featured Another Signature Mystery on Early 20th C Painting

Discussion in 'Art' started by laura9797, Jun 11, 2023.

1. laura9797

laura9797 Well-Known Member

I purchased this painting at an auction house I used to catalogue for in Atlanta back in 2016. The signature is faint and there are some condition issues as well as repairs. I think it could be around 1910/20's - possibly earlier but not sure. I found it to be charming with the little birds. I found a pair of paintings on eBay that were so similar by Laura Coombs Hills. I do not believe this is the artist though I would love that!
    Framed approximately 46.75" x 23.5". Unframed approximately 41.25" x 17.5".
    Thank you for looking! IMG_9730.jpg
    IMG_9731.jpg IMG_9733.jpg IMG_9734.jpg IMG_9739.JPG IMG_9740.JPG IMG_9736.jpg SIGMAGPAINTING.jpg IMG_9730.jpg IMG_9731.jpg IMG_9733.jpg IMG_9734.jpg IMG_9739.JPG IMG_9740.JPG IMG_9736.jpg SIGMAGPAINTING.jpg

2. stracci

stracci Well-Known Member

It's beautiful!
    I'm no expert, but the brambles and Asian aesthetic make think 1880s...maybe

3. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member

I think older. Those corner brackets on the back should have an 1800s patent date on them. Used on in to the 20th century so would say circa 1900. As for signature, just a guess as it is pretty impossible.. I see N. Mc Keer or similar.

4. Bev aka thelmasstuff

Bev aka thelmasstuff Colored pencil artist extraordinaire ;)

5. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!