Advice on this little Chinese jewel please

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by shamster, Oct 2, 2024 at 1:31 PM.

1. shamster

shamster Well-Known Member

I found this on the Chinese ebay. Seller says Qing dynasty gilt silver. I have zero experience with antique Chinese jewelry but found it very lovely, and it’s not expensive (less than 60 pounds). Do you think this is a legit antique? IMG_6998.jpeg IMG_7001.jpeg

2. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

I wonder why they think it’s Chinese. It looks British or European even to my eye.

3. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

The Qing dynasty (1644–1912) was a Manchu-led imperial Chinese dynasty and the last imperial dynasty of China. It was officially proclaimed in 1636 in Shenyang in what is now Northeast China, but only captured Beijing and succeeded the Ming dynasty in China proper in 1644. The Qing dynasty collapsed when the imperial clan (surnamed Aisin Gioro) abdicated in February 1912, a few months after a military uprising had started the Xinhai Revolution that led to the foundation of the Republic of China.

big difference between the brooch being 1657.....or 1907......... lotta room in-between..!!

I'm no joulie but those pearls look terrible, and they are drilled and held by wires...
    I've never seen that here....
    and ..is it a brooch...pendant....shoe buckle...?????

Chinese eblech... not a place I would shop for anything........ cuz if it was anything good..... I figure the locals would be on it straight away...

imho...

4. shamster

Because it’s in a traditional pattern and it’s sourced in China, the origin should be fine

Any Jewelry likes this.
  5. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Yes, I do, and it is Chinese. Charming, but it has a lot of issues.

6. shamster

I figured most stuff tagged Qing dynasty is 19th century and later. There are plenty of similar inexpensive stuff. As I said, not expensive but still wish for a real deal!