1800’s Ladderback chair?

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Constable, Apr 19, 2022.

1. Constable

Constable New Member

First off, I’m new to antiquing. I’ve found a few pieces and researched via Google Lens. I’ve stumbled across some pieces of value (I believe.) However, this piece I thought was new(er). I thought it was beautiful and bought it at a garage sale. The lady who sold it had previously used it outside. It looks very ‘dry,’ is covered in webs, and has dirt in places. But I decided to research, just in case.

I have two questions:

after using Google Lens, I found a similar, if not identical item for sale. Seller mentioned 1800’s ladder back but, offered no origin detail. I have found no name, mark, etc…
    Does anyone have a clue as to it’s origin and time?

second question, I don’t want to destroy this piece but, I do want to put it inside my home (can’t with all the dirt/webs.) CD875D6D-8FCB-4B12-A5C4-299008F6377C.jpeg Can I clean it with soap and water? And use some sort of natural protection so, that it doesn’t wear too fast?

ulilwitch and Jeff Drum like this.
  2. Jeff Drum

Jeff Drum Well-Known Member

Ladder back is correct name these are typically given now. This looks second half of 20th century to me, probably imported from Romania or other Eastern European country. As a fairly recent (not antique) chair, you do not need to be concerned about hurting value. P.s. you were right about age, many people selling things online are clueless about what they have, or do know but oversell by pretending there is age that isn’t really there.